Ken Tucker http://peoriapublicradio.org en A Duo's Debut Album: A Collaboration From 'The Both' http://peoriapublicradio.org/post/duos-debut-album-collaboration-both Transcript <p>DAVE DAVIES, HOST: <p>The Both is the name for the duo formed by veteran singer-songwriters Aimee Mann and Ted Leo. "The Both" is also the name of their debut album. The two began performing together in 2012, when Ted Leo was Mann's opening act. Mann began joining Leo onstage during his set. They liked the sound their voices together and started collaborating. Rock critic Ken Tucker has this review of "The Both."<p>(SOUNDBITE OF SONG, "THE GAMBLER")<p>THE BOTH: (singing) The ball dropped in the cold like dawn on a cold eastern morning. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 20:57:00 +0000 Ken Tucker 21949 at http://peoriapublicradio.org Carlene Carter Carries The Heavy Burden Of History Lightly http://peoriapublicradio.org/post/carlene-carter-carries-heavy-burden-history-lightly <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tbdrFYYgn3k</p> Fri, 04 Apr 2014 16:53:00 +0000 Ken Tucker 21299 at http://peoriapublicradio.org Carlene Carter Carries The Heavy Burden Of History Lightly Jon Langford Sings Our Impulse To Destroy http://peoriapublicradio.org/post/jon-langford-sings-our-impulse-destroy <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vJO6KR5A9wg</p> Wed, 02 Apr 2014 18:54:00 +0000 Ken Tucker 21190 at http://peoriapublicradio.org Jon Langford Sings Our Impulse To Destroy Sara Evans: Country Power Ballads With A Punch http://peoriapublicradio.org/post/sara-evans-country-power-ballads-punch <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lexeFtDREPg</p> Thu, 20 Mar 2014 21:35:00 +0000 Ken Tucker 20556 at http://peoriapublicradio.org Sara Evans: Country Power Ballads With A Punch Angel Olsen: A Voice Of Confounding Power http://peoriapublicradio.org/post/angel-olsen-voice-confounding-power <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/245998397/angel-olsen" target="_blank">Angel Olsen</a> begins the song "Hi-Five" by paraphrasing <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15199726/hank-williams" target="_blank">Hank Williams</a>, admitting she's so lonesome she could cry. She goes on to say she just wants someone who believes in love as urgently as she does. The twanging guitar throbbing beneath these sentiments suggests that it's going to be a long, lonely search. Tue, 11 Mar 2014 17:31:00 +0000 Ken Tucker 20073 at http://peoriapublicradio.org Angel Olsen: A Voice Of Confounding Power Pharrell Williams: Just Exhilaratingly Happy http://peoriapublicradio.org/post/pharrell-williams-new-album-happy-its-hit-single Pharrell Williams, who frequently goes by just his first name, is the sort of pop star whom many people would like to view as a friend. Emerging from hip-hop, he makes charming recordings that suggest a deep appreciation of pop, soul and R&B music extending at least as far back as the 1960s. To hear Pharrell on his new album <em>G I R L</em>, you'd think his world consisted of grooving on catchy beats and flirting with women. Thu, 06 Mar 2014 19:18:00 +0000 Ken Tucker 19860 at http://peoriapublicradio.org Pharrell Williams: Just Exhilaratingly Happy Chuck Mead: Gleefully Sinister Country Serenades http://peoriapublicradio.org/post/chuck-mead-gleefully-sinister-country-serendes In "Reno County Girl," Chuck Mead serenades us with a tale about a young woman with whom his narrator fell in love. It's a loping country song, Mead's version of cowboy music, but as its pretty melody unfurls, you realize that its scenario is bleak: Mead's character urged her to leave home despite the objections of her father, and it turns out Daddy was right — this guy leaves her all by her lonesome much of the time. Mon, 03 Mar 2014 18:04:00 +0000 Ken Tucker 19705 at http://peoriapublicradio.org Chuck Mead: Gleefully Sinister Country Serenades Vertical Scratchers: Slashed Chords, Fractured Poetry http://peoriapublicradio.org/post/vertical-scratchers-slashed-chords-fractured-poetry The members of Vertical Scratchers don't have to pretend: They are free spirits, making music that is at once tightly composed, whimsical and anarchic.<p>The vocals on a Vertical Scratchers song tend to be high-pitched and yearning. John Schmersal creates harmonies from his vocal tracks that have a keening romanticism. His guitar lines are a series of slashed chords — vertical scratching, and thus the band's name. Mon, 24 Feb 2014 19:15:00 +0000 Ken Tucker 19410 at http://peoriapublicradio.org Vertical Scratchers: Slashed Chords, Fractured Poetry Lake Street Dive: 'Portraits' Of Heartache http://peoriapublicradio.org/post/lake-street-dive-portraits-heartache Lake Street Dive is powered by the voice of Rachael Price; it's what hits you first when you listen to this quartet. It's a ringingly clear, strong voice, a sound that's at once beseeching and in control. Price regularly harmonizes with the other members of Lake Street Dive — bassist Bridget Kearney, drummer Mike Calabrese and Mike Olson, who also plays guitar and trumpet. Wed, 12 Feb 2014 21:13:00 +0000 Ken Tucker 18895 at http://peoriapublicradio.org Lake Street Dive: 'Portraits' Of Heartache Hangin' Tuff: Eric Church Takes A Chance On 'The Outsiders' http://peoriapublicradio.org/post/hangin-tuff-eric-church-takes-chance-outsiders <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15397601/eric-church">Eric Church</a> is working on a level that few other country artists of his generation can touch. Now, one of the things I mean by that is that Church is willing to take big chances such as "The Outsiders," the title track from his fourth album, and clearly a manifesto he's proud of. Mon, 10 Feb 2014 18:41:00 +0000 Ken Tucker 18764 at http://peoriapublicradio.org Hangin' Tuff: Eric Church Takes A Chance On 'The Outsiders'