District 150 Board elects new president, Wolstenholm takes, resigns seat

Jul 1, 2014

The Peoria School Board’s annual reorganizational meeting included the election of a different president and discussion on the challenges for the next year. Peoria Public Radio’s Alex Rusciano reports:

 The Board elected Debbie Wolfmeyer as president three to two. Wolfmeyer is a past-  president and was elected over long-time board member Martha Ross who’s also run multiple times for the post. Outgoing president Rick Cloyd says the District has multiple challenges for the upcoming year:

 “In terms of our revenue resources and sources and the budget implications of that from the federal, state and local level. We need to repair some community relationships that were obviously strained greatly during the past year,” Cloyd says.

 Last year saw community tension over a testing investigation at Charter Oak, that evolved into the creation of the Change 150 group. Cloyd, reflecting on the issue, says the administration, in part, could have handled some aspects of the Charter Oak situation better in day to day activities, but didn't give any more details. That grassroots organization helped Sue Wolstenholm get elected to the third district board seat. She took the seat but resigned shortly after during the meeting. The Board has 45 days to fill it. People have until July 11th to submit a resume and letter of interest to the district