Gov. Rauner declares counties disaster areas

Aug 3, 2015

Credit Credit Cass Herrington / Peoria Public Radio
Bruce Rauner has issued a state disaster proclamation for 23 counties devastated by severe storms this summer and has asked the Federal Emergency Management Agency to help assess the damages there.  Rauner Monday said a series of storms in June and July caused heavy rainfall, flash and river flooding, tornadoes and straight-line winds in the 23 counties stretching from Alexander County on the Ohio River to Grundy County in north central Illinois. 

 That included an EF-2 tornado that touched down in Delevan in Tazewell County damaging more than 50 homes.  

 Rauner says staffers from FEMA, the Illinois Emergency Management Agency, the U.S. Small Business Administration and local emergency management agencies are expected to begin assessing damage to homes and businesses in Adams, Grundy, Iroquois, Jersey, Mason, Tazewell and Warren counties later this week.