Peoria Public Radio takes Edward R. Murrow Awards

Apr 18, 2013

The Peoria Public Radio News Team is happy to report winning two Regional Murrow Awards. The regional awards are for the Small Market Radio Division of RTDNA’s (Radio Television Digital News Association) annual Edward R. Murrow Awards named after the legendary newsman.

The team won the Continuing Coverage Award for its Peoria’s Don’t Shoot Peoria coverage. That included the works of Morning Edition Host and Reporter Denise Molina-Wieger, Reporter Alex Rusciano and News Director Tanya Koonce. The Peoria Public Radio Programing, Operations and Administrative Staff also contributed to the large body of work the station turned out on the anti-violence initiative in 2012 . The individuals who helped make the entire content of WCBU’s coverage possible include Nathan Irwin, Daryl Scott, Tom Hunt and Lisa Polnitz.

Rusciano also won the Hard News category for a story on the arrival of  the Local Initiative Support Corporation in Peoria.

Regional Murrow winning stories go on to complete for the national award in each category.