State requesting Federal Distaster Area assistance

May 9, 2013

  Governor Pat Quinn is asking for federal help in the recovery after this spring’s flooding.

Quinn says the application is for 11 counties, mostly located in the northern part of the state.He says with more than three-thousand homes affected in those counties alone, there’s more than enough evidence for the president to approve his request.“We want to move forward as quickly as possible across Illinois. We want to get this started, so we hope he acts affirmatively on our request and helps a lot of families and businesses recover,” the Governor says. 49 counties have been declared state disaster areas because of the flooding.Damage is still being assessed in the remaining counties and Governor Quinn says applications for aid will be filed when the assessments are complete. COUNTIES DECLARED STATE & CONSIDERED FEDERAL DISASTER AREAS:Fulton County is among those in the federal request. The other counties in the request are Cook, DeKalb, DuPage, Grundy, Kane, Kendall, Lake, LaSalle, McHenry and Will.The 49 Counties declared state disaster areas include Fulton, Mason, Marshall, Peoria, Tazewell and Woodford.  The remaining 44 counties are: Adams, Brown, Bureau, Calhoun, Carroll, Cass, Champaign, Clark, Cook, Crawford, DeKalb, Douglas, DuPage, Greene, Grundy, Hancock, Henderson, Henry, Jersey, Jo Daviess, Kane, Kendall, Knox, Lake, LaSalle, Lawrence, Livingston, McDonough, McHenry, Mercer, Monroe, Morgan, Ogle, Pike, Putnam, Rock Island, Schuyler, Scott, Stark, Warren, Whiteside, Will, and Winnebago.